Dumaguete and Siquijor Side Trip (Damn-get-it and Seek-Your Trip)

So.

The original itinerary was to stay over night in Osmena Peak after Canyoneering in Badian  but it was instinctively changed the night before we start our backpacking due to the bad weather. My confidence in my mountaineering skills slowly deteriorated as we nearing the date of our trip, seeing the rain showed no signs of stopping. I raised my concern to my friend, and had to decide what to do next. They wanted to try a tour in Bohol, so that was one of the options.

Carla and I made a spontaneous decision to go to Siquijor instead.

We finished our Canyoneering at 2:30 PM, had our late lunch, took showers and changed to dry clothes- so by 4 PM, we were ready to hit the road again.

Badian to Bato:  We need to reach to Liloan Port before 7pm as the port closes at 8PM. It’s an hour and half ride away from Badian. In order to get there, we had to take another bus (Bato via Barili), and paid a fare of Php 58.00 for Non-Aircon Ceres. (Php 70.00 for Airconditioned Buses). 

Bato to Liloan Port: The last bus stop will be in Bato, so we contracted a motorcycle/skylab ride to bring us to Liloan Port for Php 30.00/person. 

Liloan Port to Sibulan Port:  From Liloan Port, we had to take a 20-30 minute ferry ride to Sibulan Port. Fare is Php 62.00/person.

Sibulan Port to Dumaguete: From Sibulan Port, we contracted a tricycle to bring us to Harolds Pension House for Php 150.00/trip.

SIBULAN PORT FERRY SCHEDULES


We were crossing our fingers that Harolds Pension was still accepting visitors. Luckily, there was still a Suite room available- good for 4 persons for 1600/night. 

There was nothing special about our Suite Room, no towels and soaps, just the basic 2 matrimonial beds, malnourished pillows and blankets; and good-old air-conditioning unit. If I was in the mood, I would have complained about the lack of toiletries, but I was too tired to even care. The fatigue won me over, and my feet were killing me, so I ended up sleeping our first night in Dumaguete.

Carla, Shenna and my brother went out to get dinner, and I asked them to buy me a chicken shawarma and a cold tea drink. When they got back, they told me they were trying to wake me up, but I just moaned and slept again, when they touched my head,I was burning and chilling, so they turned off the AC, and let me have my wink.

The next morning, I was hyped as if nothing happened the last night. I noticed the untouched tea drink, they were bewildered when I asked about it, and I told them that I had Shawarma when they got back . Evidently, the shawarma was just a dream!

Anyhow, after breakfast, we started moving to catch the 8:30 AM RORO trip to Siquijor. We were waiting for a tricyle to bring us to Dumaguete port, when a driver stopped. I asked for the fare, and made a gesture like he was thinking, and said he’d accept Php100.00 for the four of us.

The bitch in me woke up, and told the driver he was over-priced. The fare should only be Php 8-10.00. He was about to talk back when another driver called our attention, I told him to wait for us to clarify the matter to other drivers, when I came back, he was no longer in sight.

Useful Tip: The fare is always Php8.00 for short rides or Php 10.00 for longer rides. 

The travel time is 1 hour and 45 minutes so I took my phone, orange headset and Sputnik Sweetheart by Haruki Murakami, turned my spotify on- and I’m ready for the wait.

My companions opted to sleep the whole boat ride.

Note: (Roll-on/roll-off (RORO or ro-ro) ships are vessels designed to carry wheeled cargo, such as cars, trucks, semi-trailer trucks, trailers, and railroad cars, that are driven on and off the ship on their own wheels or using a platform vehicle, such as a self-propelled modular transporter)

Daily Ferry Schedules 

Montenegro Shipping Lines (Contact number: +639154171943) 

Travel Time : 1 hour and 45 minutes
FARE: Php 136.00/pax
Dumaguete to Siquijor Ferry Schedules :   7:00AM, 10:30AM, 2:00PM
Siquijor to Dumaguete Ferry Schedules:    10:00AM, 2:00PM, 4:30PM

Aleson Shipping Lines (Contact Number:  +639365665075)

Travel Time : 1 hour and 45 minutes
Fare: Php 100.00/Pax
Dumaguete to Siquijor Ferry Schedules :   8:30AM, 10:30AM, 3:30PM, 6:00PM
Siquijor to Dumaguete Ferry Schedules:    6:00AM, 11:30Am, 1:30PM, 6:00PM
GL Shipping Lines (Contact Numbers: +639158911426 , +63354805534)- Sun,M, T,W,Th,F
Travel Time : 1 hour and 45 minutes
Fare:
Dumaguete to Siquijor  :  5:45 AM, 8:00 AM, 10:00 AM, 12:00 AM, 3:00 PM, 4:50 PM
Siquijor to Dumaguete :  5:30 AM , 6:00 AM, 8:00 AM, 9:00 AM, 10:00 AM, 1:00 PM, 4:00PM

Oceanjet– Fast craft (Daily) 1 Hour travel

Dumaguete to Siquijor:     12:30 PM, 8:30 PM  (Tourist Class:PHP 210.00 and Business Class: Php 360.00)
Siquijor to Dumaguete:      6:00 AM and 1:50 PM  (Tourist Class:PHP 210.00 and Business Class: Php 360.00)
Cebu  to Siquijor Port:         8:00 AM
Tagbilaran to Siquijor:      10:30 PM

 

When we reached to Siquijor port, we were welcomed by local drivers offering us a tour package/tour packages.

Useful tip: Don’t be shy to haggle. 🙂 
Php 2500-2850.00- VHire, can accommodate 15-18 pax
Php 1500-1800.00- Multicab (small jeepneys, can accommodate 10-12 pax
Php 1000-1200.00- Tricycle, can accommodate 4-5 pax
There are motorcycles for rent, however I haven’t asked the price.

After a few minutes of haggling, the driver and I finally agreed Php 1000.00 for the island tour.

Guide to Dumaguete Transportation

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

